O‘ahu County Democrats 2017 Convention Information

At this year’s O‘ahu County Convention we will be passing new Resolutions, updating our By-laws, defining and refining our Platform and electing 15 of the 17 members of the Executive Committee.


Date: Saturday, April 22, 2017
Time: 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Place: Aloha Stadium Hospitality Room
99-500 Salt Lake Boulevard
Check-In: 7 a.m. to 9 a.m.
Call to Order: 8 a.m.
Cost: $50 day of convention
Includes parking, breakfast and lunch.
Committee Meetings
Date: Saturday, April 15, 2017
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Place: Farrington High School Cafeteria/Library
1564 North King Street
Check-In: 8 a.m. to 9 a.m.
Call to Order: 9 a.m.
Cost: Included in Conference Fee.
Free parking, Includes lunch.



The committee consists of 52 members elected bi-annually. The 17 member Executive Committee consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair, a Secretary, an Assistant Secretary, a Treasurer, an Assistant Treasurer, nine Regional Chairs and two O‘ahu County State Central Committee (SCC) Representatives. The 35 District Council Chairs make up the remaining members, one for each of the 35 state house districts.


The convention committee meetings will take place on Saturday, April 15th, one week before the convention. The Committee meetings are where new resolutions are proposed by the Resolutions Committee and changes to the county platform are debated and proposed in the Platform Committee. The Affirmative Action and Rules Committees also meet to debate changes in positions.


During the convention, delegates vote on recommendations submitted by the convention committees.


In odd numbered years the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, and nine Regional Chairs will be elected.

Any party member is can run for any Oahu County office, except candidates for Chair must have been a member of the Party for at least one year prior to the election. There is no such requirement for candidates to other county positions. You can read the exact rules of the convention and how to participate here.

In even numbered years the two O‘ahu County State Central Committee (SCC) Representatives will be elected.

Note: District Chairs are elected at Precinct Organizational meetings held on even numbered years set by the State Party Bylaws.


To attend the convention, you must a registered member of the Democratic Party of Hawaii. If you are not a member, click here to join. It’s easy and it costs nothing.

To be eligible to vote at a county convention, you need to be a delegate. If you were a delegate in 2016 you are a delegate in 2017. If you were not a delegate last time there are many At-Large delegate positions available in most every district. Of the 892 delegate positions, two-thirds are At-Large positions. To become an At-Large delegate, you need to request to be so by contacting your District Chair.


To find out your district and if there are any At-Large delegate positions available, enter your address: